For Anna

Art

A lovely lady wrote this post and I started a comment which turned into this…

Sweet Anna. Please take a deep breath. I am taking one too.

Sometimes caring and controlling look very similar. Carefree can seem careless. We strive and struggle. Harden our hearts towards others. We compare and strive. Killing ourselves and our joy. (I am using we because I do all of these things to). Perhaps those carefree people you see are looking at you wishing they could be organized, focused and determined like you. Perspective.

For me, I have been trying to view my life as a creator. What if I approached my life like an artist?

This life is my masterpiece. My painting. My symphony. Maybe I don’t get to have every color in the palette. Most days my canvas seems small, insignificant and messy. Perhaps my violin is out of tune and the cello is off beat.But I can decide to make the best out of what I have. That’s the challenge, the beauty and the experiment of life. Each day I choose how I will view my “everyday mundane” or see it as my “ordinary extraordinary.” I can take pictures of the sunrise and view the beauty capture. I can write words to purge my soul and remember the good. I can open my hands to the love all around instead of keeping a tight fist of control on everything. Nothing is in my control. Only my attitude.

So, what if I looked at the things I NEED to do-exercise, cleaning, nourishing my family and taking care of things- as privileges instead of chores? What if I sang while cleaning, danced while exercising and fed my family the best way I could with the resources I have? What if I used colors for planning in my planner and funny tunes on my phone as reminders?

What if it’s the tiny shifts & changes that really make the big differences in our lives?

What if I looked for ways to add doses of joy in each moment?

To seek the magic in the mundane? The beauty in the mess? The order in the chaos?

Do not ask your children to strive for extraordinary lives. Such striving may seem admirable, but it is the way of foolishness. Help them instead to find the wonder and the marvel of an ordinary life. Show them the joy of tasting tomatoes, apples and pears. Show them how to cry when pets and people die. Show them the infinite pleasure in the touch of a hand. And make the ordinary come alive for them. The extraordinary will take care of itself. ― William Martin, The Parent’s Tao Te Ching: Ancient Advice for Modern Parents

I choose to “make the ordinary come alive” for me. And them.

The choice is always ours…

celebrate

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply

