For E Turning Three

024

For E,

You are celebrating your third birthday. My darling first baby is turning three.

In Awe. A stunned smile on my face.

I am so proud of you for just being you. Entertaining, dancing fiend, train and plane loving you. Your sweet and kind heart, your amazing dance moves and your adoration for trains stand out every day of the week.  Your intellect amazes us on a daily basis. You point out everything, telling us what each one is with such excitement and intelligence, and such pleasure and pride.   Adorable chatter and singing pours from your little heart out into the wanting world. Our world, the world,  would be incomplete without you. I listen to your words. I hear you. I will always be here to listen to your brief utterances and excited shouts. Anything and everything of yours which you want to share,  I want to understand and know. I see you.  I will love you and be proud of you no matter what.

Your amazement of life, your wonder of things and your kindness towards others is beautiful and true. Just like you.  You have been a very affectionate boy since you were a baby and to our delight, you continue to be this way. You love your family, you love to snuggle, and you love to express your love for all of us in so many ways. Kisses, hugs on the legs, arms reaching to be held.  Watching you grow and learn is an amazing bittersweet  adventure.  As you become more independent and curious you move farther and farther from my arms.  I am so thankful you still return when you want a hug, need comforting or want to be held up. My arms will forever be here for you. For lifting, holding. Hugging and squeezing. Tender and strong. Just like you.

You have grown into your role of big brother courageously. Brother Noah adores you more than anyone in the world, and I am so proud of how much you have made room in your life for him. You sing a good morning song to your brother and happily demand “come on NoE”  as you grab his arm. He always smiles widely for more of you. We all smile for you.

When we look back at who you were as a two year old and newly turned three year old years from now, I have no doubt that one of the things that will stand out most is your obsession with trains, planes and music. You enjoy watching Ratatouille and Curious George, and listen to the soundtracks when we go for a drive. You get pumped up listening to Thunderstuck and are the Boogie Man’ whenever KC and the Sunshine band sing. You are Happy Happy Happy.

Because of you, I understand the true miracle of life’s plan. The ups and downs in life ultimately lead me to you. I have infinite and overwhelming love for you It is nothing short of pure joy to watch you grow and evolve every single day, and I am so, so proud of the individual that you are. Thank you for all of the laughs and smiles, and most importantly, thank you for being such a sweet and loving human being. You make me want to be a better person every day.

Sweet boy, you are my greatest teacher. I love you and am devoted to you. Forever and always

One thought on “For E Turning Three

Leave a Reply

