Mission Statement in the Past

The mission statement should guide the actions of the organization, spell out its overall goal, provide a path, and guide decision-making. It provides “the framework or context within which the company’s strategies are formulated.”

One of my first mission statements I wrote was based on the idea of breaking each of the roles I am into actionable phrases. I encourage you to try this, see if it works for you.

However, for me, It left me feeling not put together. Like my life was fractioned into little pieces.

Wife, mother, Charity, daughter, friend, writer, business, creator, etc. Then I had to choose my top 5 roles.

Tough, if not impossible.

I wrote down my roles, prioritized and chose 5. Then I made an actionable statement for each one.

My Mission Statement looked like this:

To make B feel loved, supported, cared for & admired. For our marriage to serve as a living example of respect & partnership

To deeply cherish & have fun with my Littles & nurture their development into men who are honorable, loving, brave & strong

To pursue & provide healthy options & activities to build strong bodies & minds

To nurture myself in order to maintain my energy & enthusiasm

To be an encouragement & inspiration to others by living my life full

I am living a life that makes me proud!

Mission Statement

I printed out copies to put on my fridge, in my planner and in my journal. I saw it frequently.

The action phrases felt more like “shoulds’ a ‘have to’ another way to fall short.  Reading through them, I felt defeated.

Disconnected. Like my life had 5 different parts that didn’t smoothly flow together.

In pieces.

I understand the power behind intentions. I know it works for people. I applaud them (and you) if it helps.

But for me, no.

Maybe it’s my perfectionistic tendencies, my love of checking things off a list, the fact that I am a gold star junkie.

Deep down, it’s because I have never felt good enough.

I am enough

 

IMG_20120930_174953

 

 

Leave a Reply

